Now available nationwide!
BAM logo.png
indiebound logo.png
amazon-icon-28.jpg

After he's forced to sell the family farm he's labored on his whole life, 63-year-old Gerrit Laninga doesn't know what to do with himself. He sacrificed everything for the land--his time, his health, his family--with nothing to show for it but bitterness, regret, and two grown children who want nothing to do with him.

Fifteen-year-old Rae Walters has growing doubts and fears about The Plan--the detailed blueprint for high school that will help her follow in her lawyer father's footsteps. She's always been committed to The Plan, but now that the pressure to succeed is building, what was supposed to unite her family in purpose, may end up tearing it apart.

When their paths cross just as they each need a friend the most, Gerrit's and Rae's lives begin to change in unexpected ways. Can they discover together what really matters in life and learn it's never too late for a second chance?

What reviewers are saying:

"Powner debuts with an enjoyable tale of friendship between a retired farmer and a teen girl, both of whom are struggling to find their place in the world. . . . This is an excellent tale of family, friendship, and finding one's path."--Publishers Weekly

"Packed with poignancy and meaning, Powner's debut novel delivers life lessons that cross generations and will linger long after the last page is turned. If Powner has more stories like this, she will be the next big star in Christian fiction."--Library Journal starred review

"I want to read Christian fiction, but get disillusioned because it all seems to be boy meets girl, the end. But this book had depth: broken relationships, redemption, prayer, so, so much. I can't say enough good about it."--Goodreads reviewer Aurelia M.

"A beautiful story of second chances, letting go of regret, and being brave even when it feels impossible. Author Katie Powner writes with simple grace about family, faith, and the often-painful intersection of redemption and reality. Gerrit is one of my favorite characters ever!

The Sowing Season is a must-read for fans of Charles Martin and Chris Fabry. This is an author to watch and learn from. Highly recommend!"--Goodreads reviewer Kerry J.

© 2020 by Katie Powner.